Category: Academic Work

The Simplicity of the Christian Faith

The Christian faith is quite simple. For many Christians, it seems too simple to sum up our faith by saying, “It is all in Christ.” Therefore, we often will seek and strive to make it more complex. As Christians, we must stand guard against the tendency to undo, nullify, or eclipse the simplicity of our faith. Paul warns the Colossian church along these lines. False teachers were complicating the faith with what he calls “empty deceit” (Col. 2:8). They advocated adherence to Old Testament ceremonial laws—circumcision, dietary laws, and more—for a truer and higher spirituality in Christ. But Paul...

Read More

A Brief History of Time

“What are you doing for Easter?” A fashionably dressed urbane suburbanite was chatting yesterday with a barista at a local coffee shop. The young man behind the counter replied, “Well we’re not sure. We might go to the beach in South Carolina, but then again, we just might hang around the condo and do some binge movie watching.” The customer, perhaps in his early thirties, responded, “Now, that sounds like a great Easter. Me? Easter means one thing: another reason to golf.” Now you might imagine that I was surprised. But I was not. In a post-Christian Secular age,...

Read More

Weekly Roundup 1/8/2018-1/13/2018

This is our weekly roundup of posts for 1/8/2018-1/13/2018. If you have any feedback on how we can serve you our readers better, I would appreciate it.  Thank you for reading and allowing us to minister to you throughout this past week through these posts. Monday 1/8/2018 The Path to Happiness by Charlie Handren http://servantsofgrace.org/the-path-to-happiness/ Tuesday 1/9/2018 The Necessity of Bible Intake in the Christian Life by James Williams http://servantsofgrace.org/the-necessity-of-bible-intake-in-the-christian-life/ Daily Delighting in the Treasure of the Word by Dave Jenkins http://servantsofgrace.org/daily-delighting-treasure-word/ Wed 1/10/2018 Longing for God’s Word Psalm 119:17-24 by Dave Jenkins http://servantsofgrace.org/longing-for-gods-word/ Some Pastors and Teachers by Sinclair...

Read More

Weekly Roundup 11/13/2017-11/18/2017

This is our weekly roundup of posts for 11/13/2017-11/18/2017. If you have any feedback on how we can serve you our readers better, I would appreciate it.  Thank you for reading and allowing us to minister to you throughout this past week through these posts. Monday 11/13/2017 Two Truths and a Lie by Christy Britton http://servantsofgrace.org/two-truths-lie/ The Exaltation of Humility by Mike Milton http://servantsofgrace.org/the-exaltation-of-humility/ God Hears Us by Stacy Reoach http://servantsofgrace.org/god-hears-us/ Tuesday 11/14/2017 The Wisdom From Above by Justin Huffman http://servantsofgrace.org/the-wisdom-from-above/ Seven Questions About Books, Life, and Ministry with Joshua Mills http://servantsofgrace.org/seven-questions-books-life-ministry-joshua-mills/ How Sin Does Its Work by Brian...

Read More

Weekly Roundup Links 10/16/2017-10/21/2017

This is our weekly roundup of links for 10/16/2017-10/21/2017 from around the web. We hope you find the following articles helpful to your growth in godliness. Your Church Can Be A Gospel Culture: Words by Dr. Ray Ortlund: If a church’s leaders will hold themselves to the high standard of #1, their influence will be conducive to a gospel culture. Not that we leaders will always live up to this standard. But defining it clearly and winsomely will help make a church into a safety zone where sinners can get real with Jesus and one another and start growing....

Read More