Category: Academic Work

Weekly Roundup 1/8/2018-1/13/2018

This is our weekly roundup of posts for 1/8/2018-1/13/2018. If you have any feedback on how we can serve you our readers better, I would appreciate it.  Thank you for reading and allowing us to minister to you throughout this past week through these posts. Monday 1/8/2018 The Path to Happiness by Charlie Handren http://servantsofgrace.org/the-path-to-happiness/ Tuesday 1/9/2018 The Necessity of Bible Intake in the Christian Life by James Williams http://servantsofgrace.org/the-necessity-of-bible-intake-in-the-christian-life/ Daily Delighting in the Treasure of the Word by Dave Jenkins http://servantsofgrace.org/daily-delighting-treasure-word/ Wed 1/10/2018 Longing for God’s Word Psalm 119:17-24 by Dave Jenkins http://servantsofgrace.org/longing-for-gods-word/ Some Pastors and Teachers by Sinclair...

Read More

Weekly Roundup 11/13/2017-11/18/2017

This is our weekly roundup of posts for 11/13/2017-11/18/2017. If you have any feedback on how we can serve you our readers better, I would appreciate it.  Thank you for reading and allowing us to minister to you throughout this past week through these posts. Monday 11/13/2017 Two Truths and a Lie by Christy Britton http://servantsofgrace.org/two-truths-lie/ The Exaltation of Humility by Mike Milton http://servantsofgrace.org/the-exaltation-of-humility/ God Hears Us by Stacy Reoach http://servantsofgrace.org/god-hears-us/ Tuesday 11/14/2017 The Wisdom From Above by Justin Huffman http://servantsofgrace.org/the-wisdom-from-above/ Seven Questions About Books, Life, and Ministry with Joshua Mills http://servantsofgrace.org/seven-questions-books-life-ministry-joshua-mills/ How Sin Does Its Work by Brian...

Read More

Erasmus and Luther on Romans: The Free Will Debate

The Protestant Reformation of the 16th century opened much dialogue between parties on both sides of church history. Church doctrine, confessions, purgatory, catechism, the sacraments, the authority of Scripture, papal authority and even structures of economics and culture were suddenly points of contention with which the church openly wrestled. Five hundred years later, the church universal is indebted to both Catholic and Protestant believers who sought to combat corruption and return the focus of the church to the work of Christ. While the term “Reformed” is denied by some and embraced by others within the greater church of Jesus...

Read More

Weekly Roundup Links 10/16/2017-10/21/2017

This is our weekly roundup of links for 10/16/2017-10/21/2017 from around the web. We hope you find the following articles helpful to your growth in godliness. Your Church Can Be A Gospel Culture: Words by Dr. Ray Ortlund: If a church’s leaders will hold themselves to the high standard of #1, their influence will be conducive to a gospel culture. Not that we leaders will always live up to this standard. But defining it clearly and winsomely will help make a church into a safety zone where sinners can get real with Jesus and one another and start growing....

Read More

Who Cares About the Reformation?

This year, we celebrate the 500th anniversary of the Reformation. It was October 31, 1517, when Martin Luther nailed his 95 theses to the door of the Castle Church in Wittenberg. Luther was simply attempting to begin a discussion about the abuses and false teaching happening in the Church. Little did he know, this would spark a movement that changed the Church and Western civilization. Someone might ask the question, “What relevance does the Reformation have for today?” They might also ask, “Why should we learn about what happened?” After all, it was 500 years ago, and “How does...

Read More